DEI Fall 2022

"DE+I: Fall 2022 Newsletter"
View article



"Spectrum Diversity Newsletter" (Year-In-Review 2019)

"Spectrum Diversity Newsletter" (October 2018)

"Spectrum Diversity Newsletter" (July 2018)

"Spectrum Diversity Newsletter" (March 2018)

DE+I: Our Fall 2022 Newsletter

Dear friends,

When asked earlier this year by R+C’s Managing Partner, Rhonda Tobin, to take on the role of leading the firm’s Diversity, Equity + Inclusion (DE+I) Committee, we accepted without hesitation. Recognizing that we have big shoes to fill, due not only to the years-long dedication of outgoing Committee Chair John Lynch, but also the considerable efforts of many of our colleagues, we viewed Rhonda’s request as an opportunity to bring new energy and vision to one of the most critical firm priorities.

The novel format of this newsletter is one of the many examples of the evolution of the DE+I Committee and its work. Over the last few months, several partners, counsel, and associates have joined the Committee, drawing members from across the firm’s practices and offices. Committee members have been actively engaged in updating the firm’s existing DE+I Action Plan, while also conducting outreach to affinity organizations and seeking opportunities to advance DE+I principles in the law and in our communities.

While these formal steps are important, it is essential to keep our eyes on the ultimate goals of the firm’s DE+I program, which are to continue to foster a culture of inclusion and belonging, develop a diverse workforce, increase the number of diverse partners and leaders within the firm, and be DE+I leaders in the communities we serve. Although we and our fellow Committee members may be the official leaders of the firm’s program, everyone at Robinson+Cole plays a significant role in helping us progress toward those goals, every minute of every day, as this newsletter demonstrates so vividly.

As we celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15-October 15), R+C reaffirms its commitment to the language of inclusion. There is true power in the words we use to embrace and promote members of the firm, and we are proud to celebrate the history, culture, and accomplishments of our Hispanic and Latin colleagues, clients, and communities.

Edward J. Heath
Diversity, Equity + Inclusion Committee Chair

Virginia E.McGarrity
Diversity, Equity + Inclusion Committee Vice Chair